1 Now after Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judea in the days of Herod the king, behold, wise men from the East came to Jerusalem, 2 saying, “Where is He who has been born King of the Jews? For we have seen His star in the East and have come to worship Him.”
3 When Herod the king heard this, he was troubled, and all Jerusalem with him. 4 And when he had gathered all the chief priests and scribes of the people together, he inquired of them where the Christ was to be born.
5 So they said to him, “In Bethlehem of Judea, for thus it is written by the prophet:
       6 ‘ But you, Bethlehem, in the land of Judah,
      Are not the least among the rulers of Judah;
      For out of you shall come a Ruler
       Who will shepherd My people Israel.’

7 Then Herod, when he had secretly called the wise men, determined from them what time the star appeared. 8 And he sent them to Bethlehem and said, “Go and search carefully for the young Child, and when you have found Him, bring back word to me, that I may come and worship Him also.”
9 When they heard the king, they departed; and behold, the star which they had seen in the East went before them, till it came and stood over where the young Child was. 10 When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceedingly great joy. 11 And when they had come into the house, they saw the young Child with Mary His mother, and fell down and worshiped Him. And when they had opened their treasures, they presented gifts to Him: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.
12 Then, being divinely warned in a dream that they should not return to Herod, they departed for their own country another way. (Matthew 2:1-12, New King James Version)

Thus says the Lord,

“How far are you willing to travel to worship Me? Am I worth the long treks through wilderness, vicious storm, and massive desert? Am I worth your time, your love, your hope? You tell Me, child of Mine. Am I worth climbing out of bed in the middle of the night, when the air is cool and crisp, but your flesh wants warmth and comfort? Am I worth the loss of friends, the sacrifices of time, the weary knees and countless prayers? Am I worth all of that? Am I worth a growling stomach and shaky body, when I call you into a fast of mourning?

“And if I am, in your eyes, worthy of your worship, what gift will you lay at My feet? Will you lay the purity and quality of Gold at My feet, like the wise men? Will you come before Me with the prayer and intercession of Frankincense; with supplication and groaning for the salvation of the world? Or, even, will you kneel before Me with the greatest power of praise – obedience against and sacrifice of the flesh? Will you consecrate yourself with the Holy anointing of Myrrh as an act of worship and preparation while waiting for your King?

“And after you have entered into the heart of worship, after you have knelt before My throne, after you have been given the keys of kingdom revelation, will you remain faithful? When the prowling wolf comes to devour, will your loyalty hold in the face of danger? Will you guard my altar of sacrifice and glory, when the ruler of darkness insists you betray it?

“Will you? Will you?

“I wonder. I have My doubts.

“How can you doubt, you say?

“I say again, I have My doubts. I have doubts birthed out of years upon decades upon centuries upon eternities of seeing, knowing, and understanding. My children will proclaim my name upon the rooftops, but deny My holiness in the alleys and dark corners. My children will speak my glory but destroy their bodies; My holy temple. My children will weep at the thought of my suffering upon the tree, sob with the knowledge of nail-pierced hands, and bloody feet – and yet I say, they blatantly commit the very abominations that drove those nails through My flesh.

“Again I say, how far will you come to worship Me? And when you kneel before Me, will you worship in spirit and in truth? Or will you hoard your burdens, carry your sins, and offer Me lip-service, if, that is, you offer Me anything at all?

“Am I worthy? Am I worthy? Am I worthy?

“If I am worthy in your eyes, worship Me. But if, in your eyes, I am not worthy of a surrendered heart and adoring soul, let the rocks cry out in your place. For my Soul is weary of lip-service. I despise it. My bones are vexed with the words of nations and peoples too material to worship in the spirit.

“Repent, I say, repent, lest I strike My hand against the land, and a great travail come forth.”

