Dear Abba,

What a blessing it is to have you in my life. What a wonder it is do dwell in your presence. Thank you, oh God, for your guidance in my life. I would be lost without you. I would be involved in things that would break me, torment me, hurt me, and destroy me. But you, my Lord, said wait, little child, I have more for you. Wait, my little one, I would preserve you, protect you, and spare you the heartache you are getting ready to walk into. Thank you, my Lord, for not answering all my prayers. For not giving me every desire. Thank you, my Lord, for having the strength and love to tell me no, over and over again.

Abba, create in your people a renewed hunger for you. We are complacent. We are content with our innocent little bubbles. We don’t want anything shaking up our tiny little world. But God, I ask you to shake. Shake up our lives. Create in us a desire for something more. Create in us a restlessness for more of your word, for more of your love. For more time in you. We are starving, my God, and we don’t even know it. But make us aware of the starvation of our spirits, and meet our needs.

In Jesus name, Amen.

